Skip to main content

Special Education

Quick links

Finding information about learning differences, disabilities, and special education services can sometimes feel overwhelming.  We hope the following resources help you understand what types of special education services we offer, how to work with our department, and what your parental rights are.

 

Special Education Procedural Rights
SELPA Notice of Public Hearing
SELPA CAC 10/26/20 Meeting
SELPA CAC 11/23/20 Meeting
SELPA CAC 3/22/21 Meeting
SELPA CAC 4/26/2021 Meeting
SELPA Policy Board 6/24/2021 Meeting
Special Education Services Offered

Alameda Unified School District (AUSD) and the North Region SELPA provide a full continuum of services for students ages 0-22 who are eligible for special education and related services. Those services include (but are not limited to) access to:

  • General education classroom with specialized academic instruction
  • General education classroom with specialist services
  • General education classroom with related services
  • Special education classroom with specialized academic instruction
  • Instruction in settings other than classrooms with specialized academic instruction
  • Itinerant instruction in classrooms, learning centers and settings other than classrooms
  • Instruction in classrooms throughout the SELPA for individuals with exceptional needs who require intensive instruction and training
  • Instruction in the home, hospitals, or other institutions

For more information on the types of services we provide, please check our AUSD Special Education Services page.

Special Education Strategic Plan Group

In the spring of 2017, AUSD formed a committee to create a three- to five year plan for the delivery of special education services in AUSD. Based on recommendations from the Fiscal Crisis Management Assistance Team, the committee was comprised of parents, community members, general and special education teachers, specialists, classified staff, and administrators.

Meeting Presentations, Summaries, and final report.

coronavirus information

Please go to our dedicated COVID_19 Special Education Resources page for details on our response to the current pandemic.

Special Education Contacts

Niel Tam Education Center

2060 Challenger Dr.,

Alameda, CA 94501

Phone: (510) 337-7194

Fax: (510) 864-2309

 

Randhir Bains

Sr. Director of Special Education

rbains@alamedaunified.org 

(510) 337-7098 ext. 77098

 

Betty Lin

Coordinator, Preschool through

Elementary and Autism Programs

blin@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7033 ext. 77033

 

Julie Venuto

Coordinator, 

Secondary, Private School,  Non Public School, and Mod/Sev Continuum

jvenuto@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7084 ext. 77084

 

Jill Hunter

Program Manager, Preschool

jhunter@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7128 ext. 77128

 

Gabriel Welcher

Program Manager, Private School and Non Public School

gwelcher@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7928 ext. 77928

 

Chandini Stanley

Program Manager, Curriculum & Instruction, Assessment & Acceleration

cstanley@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7005 ext. 77005

 

Myra Santome-Elias

Data and Compliance Administrator

melias@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7093 ext. 77093

 

Mary Hallford

Budget Analyst

mhallford@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7177

 

Christina Nieves

Office Assistant

cnieves@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77075

 

Stefanie Cox

TSA - Special Education, Moderate/Severe

scox@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7203 ext. 77203

 

Julia Neff

TSA - Special Education, Mild/Moderate

jneff@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-

 

Tara Donoghue

Behavior Specialist

tdonoghue@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7041 ext. 77041

 

Tamar Cohen

Behavior Specialist

tcohen@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7046 ext. 77046

 

Joan Ralph

Behavior Specialist

jralph@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7041 ext. 77041

 

Ingrid Ryan

Behavior Specialist

iryan@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7046 ext. 77046

 

Mary Grace Basco

Preschool Specialist

mgbasco@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7035 ext. 77035

 

Karyn Missaggia

Transition Services Specialist

kmissaggia@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7127 ext. 77127